Leaf Label – August 31st

This glorious second album from Szun Waves shares the same musical DNA as the crystalline and melodic jazz that hailed from the German ECM label in the 70s. Electronics fiend Luke Abbott (Earlham Mystics), saxophonist Jack Wyllie (Portico Quartet) and prodigious Aussie drummer Laurence Pike sound like they agreed some loose parameters to guide their adventurous extended romps – and then pressed ‘record’. The result? Six tracks, no edits or overdubs, and some stunning modern music. Abbott provides the brooding sonic ballast with his synthesizers, while Wyllie and Pike thoughtfully duck and dive around each other. It’s certainly less raw than their 2016 debut. Yet the epic 12-minute title track redeems their more polished effort through its powerful cosmic jam and profound playing from the trio.

Buy: Szun Waves – New Hymn To Freedom

Live: SPACE Studios on August 30th