Geographic – November 10th

After several years of gigging and drip-feeding singles to the masses, Glasgow-based Spinning Coin drop their full-length debut on Domino-imprint Geographic. The tracks on Permo cover all sorts of terrain, and that’s due to the band’s two songwriters Sean Armstrong and Jack Mellin taking turns on principal writing duties, creating tracks that oscillate from escapist jangle-pop to rougher guitar-driven gems. At fourteen tracks, it feels slightly too long for an album with such disparate sounds at times, but those differences also become some of its highlights: ‘Magdalene’ clocks in at the heavier end with its scratchy overdrive outro whereas the nursery-rhyme-esque melody of ‘Floating With You’ is one of Permo‘s better slow tracks. Listen for an eclectic mash-up of guitar sounds.

Buy: Spinning Coin – Permo

Live: The Victoria, Dalston on February 28th 2018